April Book Haul

I managed to stick to my book buying ban on March, but I went right back into the book buying trap in April, the latest being the month of my birthday. Great excuse to spend money, isn’t it? 

OOOOThe first two books are from that secondhand bookshop I keep talking about, Renaissance. I paid 6$ for the two books which is simply amazing. I have yet to read them, but I will get onto it. Some day

OOOOThe six other books are from Amazon and Bookoutlet
I have had my eyes on graphic novels for a while now but I was unsure wether I should buy some or not.
Now I haven’t picked up a comic since I was a kid
(apart for Calvin and Hobbes); and even then I much prefered novels. In my head I was absolutely certain that I didn’t like graphic novels because 1/ I love words way too much and 2/ there is just not enough text in it to be worth my money. Well, I take it back, they are worth my money and I will buy some more in a very near futur. I have found myself enjoying reading them so much more than I expected; I enjoyed the art just as much as the story itself and I am now addicted. I am sure I will soon be in a novel reading slump because I only want to pick up graphic novels at the moment. Not only is it very enjoyable to go through a graphic novel quickly (meaning reading it in one go and not being sleep depraved) but it also is very enjoyable to read again later because you can spot details you missed the first time. Now I do enjoy re-reading a book (ahem! Harry Potter) but it sometimes can be a bit boring when you know the story very well. With a graphic novel however, it is always nice to have a look inside, if only to admire the drawings. And I love it; that’s it, I’m converted.
(I realize now there’s a bit of a blue theme going on here)

What books have you bought this month? 

output_k7zCA8_____________________________________________________________________

Wicked by Gregory McGuire | The Selection by  Kiera Cass
Rat Queens Volume 1 by Kurtis J Wiebe | Peter Pan By J.M Barrie
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang | Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol  Delilah Dirk by Tony Cliff | The Odyssey by Gareth Kind 

_____________________________________________________________________
Last minute edit: I said I wouldn’t buy anymore books this month… and I failed. 
OODSCN2343OODSCN2341
OOOOOLa nuit des temps by Barjavel | The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Comment

