January Wrap-up and 2015 reading challenge

A month as passed already, and it is time for a bookish wrap-up. 
I’ve said it before, but 2015 is definitely a year for reading and I started pretty well I believe. I set my reading goal on goodread to 40 books; I didn’t want to st the bar too high to be sure I will succeed and I am 7 books ahead already (yeah me!). I want to read more and I want to diverse my readings, this is mostly the reason why I choose to attempt ehe 2015 reading challenge: it’ll force me to step out of my comfort zone and pick up books I would probably didn’t glance at normaly. I haven’t necessarely done it yet because I was in a fantasy mood this month, but I will, promise! Anyways, let’s get into that wrap-up shall we? 

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon OO★★★★★
I read it in two sittings, this is how much I loved it. I have found the characters and story to be very well written and so enjoyable. Surprisingly I find myself really excited about the second book that I will most probably buy some time soon. This book will count for A book written by someone under 30 and A book set in a different country.

♦  The Magician’s Nephew by C.S LewisOO★★★★★
I am ashamed to say I’ve never read the Chronicles of Narnia before. I’ve watched the adaptations, loved them, but I never picked up any of the books. I found the bookset for 9$ in a thrifted bookshop and couldn’t resist. It was such a good opportunity to finalle read them. This book will count for A book with nonhuman characters.

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire NorthOO★★☆☆☆
Saddly I didn’t like this book. I was very excited to read it because of the many good reviews I’ve seen on the Internet, but I just couldn’t get into the story. Not that the story is bad, it is not. I simply found it to be a little to slow and had a hard time relating to the characters. This boon will count as A book written for An author you’ve never read before

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy KalingOO★★★★☆
Loved it. Simply loved it. Mindy is such a funny and refreshing woman. I usually am not into this kind of books (remember how I hated Not That Kind of Girl?) because women tend to talk about diet, about feeling bad in their skins and heartbreaks and bad experiences and I found it so tirring to read about other people tiny problems. Of course people can relate because these things happen to all of us at some point of our lives, but why making it so dramatic? Mindy, indeed, talked about her childhood, her past boyfriends, her friendships and sometimes bad things happened to her to, but she wrote about it in a very funny way and said « ok, that wasn’t nice when it happened, but f*ck that, I feel fine now so let’s laugh about it! » and THAT is what I loved. She never complained, never pitied her past self; she saw the funny parts in everything it felt good. 
So, without any doubt, this book will count for A funny book.

Oroonoko by Aphra BehnOO★★☆☆☆
This novel (that actually is a novella, but never mind) is the very first english novel AND was written by a woman. No, no, the first english novel wasn’t Robinson Crusoe. It was published in 1791, more than a hundred years after Oroonoko that was published in 1688. Anyways, I had to read it for uni and ended up liking it. It was complicated to follow from time to time, mostly because english isn’t my first language, but interesting none of the less. This book will count for A book written for A book by a female author.

Rome & Juliet by William ShakespearOO★★★★☆
Not much to say about it, it is a classic and I hadn’t read it yet; I liked it. 
This book will count for A play.

Frankenstein by Mary ShelleyOO★★★★☆
Another classic that I’ve never read and had to for uni. It was much much easier to read than Oroonoko, but then again, it was written so long after that it couldn’t possibly be harder. I loved discovering the real story of Viktor Frankenstein and his creature. This book will count for A book more than 100 years old.

City of Bones by Cassandra ClareOO★★☆☆☆
Such a disappointment. I can’t say much about it because there isn’t much to say really. The story was still enjoyable, I didn’t struggle to finish the book or anything, but it was so (so) predictable that I almost thought about putting the book down and never read the end. The story line has been used countless of times in other stories and the characters were, well, mundane (see what I did there?). I will probably read the rest of the series but will certainly not hurry to do so. It took me a long time to finally start it and it will take me at least the same aount of time to finish it, althoug I heard the Clockwork trilogy is far better, maybe I’ll give it a go? This book will count for A book that became a movie (movie I will surely not watch). 

The lion, the witch and the wardrobe by C.S LewisOO★★★★★
Not much surprises there because I knew the story already but it was a real pleasure to read it and visit Narnia again. I won’t use this book for any of the challenges because I used the first one of the series already and I’d wish to read a book per challenge to read as much as possible.

Last minute edit:

City of Ashes by Cassandra ClareOO★★☆☆☆
I said I wouldn’t read the rest of the series anytime soon because I didn’t like the first book that much, but I was in a huge reading slump after that. And I didn’t know what else to read, so the easier way for me to keep reading was to stick to something I already knew. I then picked up the second book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy. Nothing much to say, it left me with the same feeling: unfinished characters, not much actions, the story is slow and nothing much happens. We’ll see the rest. 

All of this gives me 1 books read and 8/50 challenges done. 

What were your reads this month?

2 réflexions sur “January Wrap-up and 2015 reading challenge

Comment

