« The New Harry Potter

The title being confusing I feel like I should tell what exactly I am talking about. It obviously is a book that has been compared to the Harry Potter series many many times over the past few months; and it is The Bone Season By Samantha Shannon. For those of you who haven’t read or heard about this book, here is the synopsis: 

« IT IS THE YEAR 2059. SEVERAL MAJOR WORLD CITIES ARE UNDER THE CONTROL OF A SECURITY FORCE CALLED SCION. PAIGE MAHONEY WORKS IN THE CRIMINAL UNDERWORLD OF SCION LONDON, PART OF A SECRET CELL KNOWN AS THE SEVEN SEALS. THE WORK SHE DOES IS UNUSUAL: SCOUTING FOR INFORMATION BY BREAKING INTO OTHERS’ MINDS. PAIGE IS A DREAMWALKER, A RARE KIND OF CLAIRVOYANT, AND IN THIS WORLD, THE VOYANTS COMMIT TREASON SIMPLY BY BREATHING.
BUT WHEN PAIGE IS CAPTURED AND ARRESTED, SHE ENCOUNTERS A POWER MORE SINISTER EVEN THAN SCION. THE VOYANT PRISON IS A SEPARATE CITY—OXFORD, ERASED FROM THE MAP TWO CENTURIES AGO AND NOW CONTROLLED BY A POWERFUL, OTHERWORLDLY RACE. THESE CREATURES, THE REPHAIM, VALUE THE VOYANTS HIGHLY—AS SOLDIERS IN THEIR ARMY.
PAIGE IS ASSIGNED TO A REPHAITE KEEPER,WARDEN, WHO WILL BE IN CHARGE OF HER CARE AND TRAINING. HE IS HER MASTER. HER NATURAL ENEMY. BUT IF SHE WANTS TO REGAIN HER FREEDOM, PAIGE WILL HAVE TO LEARN SOMETHING OF HIS MIND AND HIS OWN MYSTERIOUS MOTIVES.
THE BONE SEASON INTRODUCES A COMPELLING HEROINE—A YOUNG WOMAN LEARNING TO HARNESS HER POWERS IN A WORLD WHERE EVERYTHING HAS BEEN TAKEN FROM HER. IT ALSO INTRODUCES AN EXTRAORDINARY YOUNG WRITER, WITH HUGE AMBITION AND A TEEMING IMAGINATION. SAMANTHA SHANNON HAS CREATED A BOLD NEW REALITY IN THIS RIVETING DEBUT. »

Now I must tell you right away that I do not agree with the latter statement on many levels. First of all,  I believe there is nothing like Harry Potter (you Potterheads out there know how strongly one can feel toward this series). How dare they compare the two? Not that The Bone Season isn’t good, because, damn, it is. Second, neither the plot nor the characters of the Samantha Shannon’s book ressemble those of J.K Rowling’s. Lastely, beside the fact that both stories are set in England (or in the UK more generally when it comes to Harry Potter), they really have not much in common. To begin with, the main character is a female in The Bone Season and, for me, it makes all the difference in the world.

But I’m rambling, let me get into the real subject.
The Bone Season; I have ab-so-lu-te-ly loved you. Loved loved loved you. I have heard countless of things about this book and read just how much amazing reviews of it that when I found the novel for 5$ at Chapter-Indigo… I couldn’t resist. It was destiny. I knew from the start I was gonna love the story but I had no idea I would fell IN LOVE with it. It was love from page one, and I devored my way through the book. I picked it up one night and two days later I finished it and was left with a mixture of joy, saddness and anticipation. Now I am desperately waiting for the second book of the serie to come out on January 27th (if I am not mistaken). The Bone Season is the first book in a series of 7 I believe, the sequel being entitled The Mime Order. I must say I haven’t felt that much excitement at the perspective of a book coming out since, well, Harry Potter. I quite guess this is what all of those comparing the two series think about: The Bone Season brings back the excitement, the anticipation and the desire for time to simply fly over and bring us the next book. 

IF YOU HAVE YET TO READ IT, I HIGHLY RECOMMAND THAT YOU DO PICK IT FOR I AM 100% SUREYOU WILL LOVE IT.
Untitled
2 réflexions sur “« The New Harry Potter

    1. oh, merci beaucoup! Je suis très touchée.
      J’ai été passablement absente depuis quelques temps, mais je reviens lentement. Je ferai surement mon article-réponse dans le mois.

      Encore merci!

Comment

