Sweet breakfast

BakedAs the cold weather slowly took over I have found myself baking a lot more. Two year ago, I tried to bake a sweet bun (I believe it’s the name brioche have been given in english) and it didn’t turn out that great. I decided I jusy had to give it second chance, and lucky I did, because it turned out very great. It rose well, smelt so good, and tasted like heaven. It was only right for me to share the recipe (that I simply followed) I found on Cuissonencouleurs.

You will need: 

♦ 500g of flour (2 cups) 
♦ 250g warm milk (1 cup) 
♦ 1 egg + 1 yolk
♦ 4 tablespoon of sugar (or more depending on how sweet you want it)
♦ 1 teaspoon of raising powder 
♦ Half a teaspoon of salt
♦ 70g of butter (1/4 cup) 

output_fMlntf
If you have a Kitchenaid (which I don’t), then just put all the ingredients (except the butter) in and turn on the kneading mode. One the dough starts making a ball, add the butter. If don’t have a Kitchenaid, well, the process is quite the same, you only have to use a bit of muscle and dirty your hands. Not a fan of that part, but it is worth it, I promise.
output_UJIfEB
Once your done, separate your dough into three ball and braid them. Let it rest for AT LEAST an hour in a hot and dry splace.  You can brush a yolk on top to make it even prettier. 

doughTurn on the oven to 180°C and start baking the bun in a cold oven for 25 to 30 mins.
And… tadam. 

You can either let it cool and eat it with a glass of milk, or burn you tongue right away because you are way to impatient to wait for it to cool down. Store the rest of it in a box to prevent it from drying. 

Enjoy!

Une réflexion sur “Sweet breakfast

Comment

