Book Haul

As I mentioned in a previous post, I love to read but found it a bit complicated to buy all the books I want, whenever I want because it sometimes is way too expensive. I’ve pretty much always bought my books brand new in France, because there’s no secondhand store, and the books I bought in thriftshops or garage sell were always classics. So when I was craving a recent book, I had no other choice but to rush to the nearest library and buy it. But I thought sometimes, the book wasn’t worth the price because I didn’t like it, or because I read it so fast I was left to think maybe I paid a too much for the little time I spent actually using the book. Besides that, I love to buyt things that have a history and I love to know my books have lived in the hands of others. I was so please to see secondhand bookshops can be found anywhere here in Montreal. All these are from the library Renaissance, except for the first one that I found in a thriftshop on St Laurent.

All these, for 27$, isn’t it awesome?

DSCN1586*

Too Far
Rich Shapero

How bloody gorgeous is this cover?
The story is about two 6 year-old kids who, thanks to their imagination, create another world in which they can escape their lives at home.
I can’t wait to start reading it.

o

Life Of Pi
Yann Marcel

I’ve been dying to read this one for so long, but I said in an early post, I just stopped read as much as I used to. I’m very looking foreward to read it.

O
O
o
O

Back to Blood
Tom Wolfe

I have to say I never heard of this book, but I found the cover so pretty I just just had to get it. The story sounds quite nice though, a bit out of the fiction/fantasy I’m used to; But I think it is time for me to try out something new.

O
O

DSCN1577Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
J.K Rowling

I believe I do not have to present this one.
Favorite series of all time, can’t get enough of it. I have all the books in France,  but as we’re studying the first one in class, I needed to buy another copy. Thought it’d be nice to own another edition. The thing is, now I have to buy the others…

O

DSCN1573Myths and Legends
Golden Press Collection

I am a huge fan of myths in general, with a slightly preference for grec mythology. I found this book in Renaissance and way delighted to take it home with me for only 3$50. The book was illustrated by Alice and Martin Provensen, and is absolutely gorgeous.

O
O

DSCN1572The Night Circus
Erin Morgenstern

I had never hear about this book when I found it but it sounded so amazing and magical I just had to have it. The story’s about a circus that only appears at night, and tells us the love story of two young people living the circus life.
I am very excited about this book.

O

DSCN1576

Thinking of you
Jill Mansell

Another book I picked up because I thought the cover was pretty. It tells the story of Ginny, whose daughter just left for university. She divorced the father long time ago,  is now left alone with no-one to take care of. She will have to learn how to live for herself. I’ve started reading it, and though there is no much action, the story is still very sweet.

o

DSCN1582Egyptologie
Milan Edition

As I said a bit earlier in the post, I love everything mythology related. This one is more of the history/mythology kind of book, and is BEAUTIFULand  HUGE, all shiny, and there’s « jewels » on it. Inside we can find copies of articles, and letters in the book.

DSCN1579

Charlie and the Chocolat Factory
Roald Dahl

This last one is a classic that I am ashamed to say I have never read. No need to summarise the story I suppose. I am very very excited to finally read it. Fortunately, the weather s terrible here in Montreal, and has been for a while, I won’t feel guilty about staying home to read.

And if all that wasn’t enough, I offered myself not one, not two, not three, but ten ebooks:

Weird and More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
The Maze Runner by James Dashner
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham
The Diviners by Libba Bray
The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
The infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Heir of Fire by Sarah J.Maas.

Yes, ten. I went crazy.

Une réflexion sur “Book Haul

Comment

